This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Db issue... need some help.

Jul 8, 2010 at 6:39 PM
Hi - I'm currently running my photography business website ( http://temptingweddings.com/ ) on graffiti 1.2. When I started it I had it running on Vista db. It seems to have had the problem where the db starts growing out of control. A few months back I shifted the website to MSSQL 2005 and the db went down a little in size (maybe 20%) but it has continued to grow. I looked at the db and it looks like 80% of the data is in the versionStore. I am a web designer by trade, but not a db engineer so my understanding of what's going on is limited. From what I understand versionStore is just where the db keeps a record of what has changed. My ISP offered to help me fix it but they said I'd have to figure out what to do and they could implement it. So, If I want to reduce the size of this db AND prevent it from growing out of control in the future, what do I tell them as far as what to do? thanks! ken
Coordinator
Jul 11, 2010 at 4:28 AM
Edited Jul 11, 2010 at 4:29 AM
When you say, "growing out of control" can you provide some stats behind that? Are we talking about 100's of MB or 10's of MB per day? Per week? Per Month? Along with the growth numbers, what kind of changes are you making to the site in those same periods of time?

How many rows are in your version store? What does your Post_Statistics table look like? Size? Rows?

With some more of this information hopefully we can find a solution for your needs.

Thanks,
-Jeremy
Jul 12, 2010 at 6:04 PM
Edited Jul 12, 2010 at 6:07 PM

Hi Jeremy -

I haven't been watching these stats over a long time so I don't have a lot of history to refer to. My ISP notified me of this because they had to start charging me more for db storage.