This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Adding another field at contact page

Nov 15, 2010 at 8:45 AM

I am a newbie in asp.net and I need to add another text field in the contact page and the text is passed through the url

For Ex: www.sitename.com/contact-us/?product enquiry

I need to get the "product enquiry" text to the new field.

Also the graffiti extras doesnt work on v1.3

Anyone please

Binu

Coordinator
Nov 16, 2010 at 5:12 AM

Well, the contact form is stored as a view file that you can edit by going to this location on your site:

/graffiti-admin/site-options/utilities/FileBrowser.aspx?path=__utility\forms&f=contact.view

You can add your form field there, but to actually get it sent to you, you're going to need to modify ajax.cs to include that field in the message generated (in the "newContactMessage" case). Ideally, this function would just read the entire form post data and include it on the message, but it doesn't do that right now.

The easiest way to handle auto-population from the querystring is to use javascript/jQuery to read it in and fill in the text box for you.

As for Graffiti Extras, we're going to need more details. What specifically doesn't work? That project hasn't been touched since well before Graffiti went open source, and I don't think the developer who created it even works for Telligent anymore (and he hasn't been logged in to codeplex in quite some time either). I think it would be good to bring that project "into the fold" and get it up and running, but we'd need to get in touch with Keyvan to see if he wants to make updates and/or add other people as contributors to the project. Otherwise, anyone can submit a patch to the project to fix the issues and leave it at that, but I'd rather see it addressed more fully.

Coordinator
Nov 17, 2010 at 2:44 PM